KWM announces winners of Impact Awards for 2020

Current site :    AU   |   EN
China Hong Kong SAR
United Kingdom
United States

KWM Community Impact is delighted to announce the recipients of the KWM Impact Awards for 2020. The Impact Awards recognise individuals and teams who have made a significant contribution in the community through pro bono legal services, volunteering or philanthropic work.  This year three national awards and a total of ten local awards were presented to our people across KWM's Australian centres.

Recipients of the national awards for 2020 are:

The Tony D'Aloisio Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year Award: Ben Morgan

Named after former KWM Chief Executive Partner, Tony D'Aloisio. Tony was instrumental in the launch of Mallesons in the Community in 2001. This award seeks to identify, recognise and reward individual KWM lawyers who have demonstrated excellence, commitment and leadership, by enhancing access to justice and reducing inequality & poverty for young people, through the delivery of exceptional pro bono legal services.  

The Jane Farnsworth Community Excellence Award: Lani Beer

This award recognises an individual who has demonstrated excellence, commitment and leadership, by providing access to opportunities through volunteering or philanthropic initiatives which have helped to reduce inequality and poverty for young people. The award is named after former KWM lawyer, Jane Farnsworth who was instrumental in the launch of the Mallesons in the Community program in 2001 and its continued success.

The Change Makers of the Year Award: SNAICC Project Team

This award recognises a team of KWM partners and staff (or together with a team of commercial clients), who have demonstrated commitment, innovation and excellence over the course of 2020 via at least one significant pro bono or volunteering matter, project or initiative, which has demonstrably benefited young people.

In addition, two local awards are presented in each KWM centre. The Pro Bono Excellence Award and the Community Champion Award recognise efforts to reduce inequality and poverty through either the provision of pro bono legal services or volunteering and philanthropic activities. This year the recipients of these awards are:

Brisbane: Lucia Belchamber and Erin Allen

Canberra: Tommy Randall, Russell Cain and the hospitality team

Melbourne: Sarah Werner, Barry Crowley and the hospitality team

Sydney: Amanda Kazacos, Anna Szabo, Suzanne Wilson and Pino Sellaro

Perth: Matheo Vinciullo, Angela Zhao and Ashleigh De La Rosa

Congratulations to all our award winners for 2020! Read more about our social impact practice and the work we do here.